Home | About Me | Books | Music | My Blog | Other Sites I Like

July 19, 2022

Once again went a bit long without touching this. Changed my mind about making this a fansite though because I've got some books I want to ramble about. Maybe one of these days I'll have enough time to do that. This semester's been kind of a bore; all my friends went back to their home countries at the end of last semester and none of my attempts to make new friends really panned out. I still don't really know what I want to do once I'm done here, can't even decide where I'd like to live after graduation. Maybe I can at least start to talk about things I like and want others to know about, instead of just letting the time keep on passing when I'm not working on my thesis.

July 5, 2022

Totally forgot about this for a while there, didn't I? In the past couple months I've gotten every album by The Capricorns, though! I'm thinking that maybe I should turn this into a Capricorns fansite? I probably wasn't going to be saying much about the books I read anyway, and also I think they deserve a fansite. Expect that change to come about over the next few weeks! Very excited to introduce all y'all to an in depth look at my current music rabbit hole.

May 2, 2022

Got back home over the weekend, and I'm pretty jet lagged now. I think the laptop I left here is better than the one I have at school, actually, so it's nice to be using that again. Not really much to say, unfortunately. The aforementioned copy of In the Zone arrived today and it's great, obviously.

I was poking through my flash drive reminding myself of what was on there, and I found a few old reviews I wrote for the campus radio station back in like 2017 or so? They never used most of them, so I guess those can finally be subjected to the public eye. I can't remember if they were rejected or if I just never sent them in, but they're probably better than the ones that got published so y'all should like them.

April 28, 2022

I've been learning the software I'll need for my thesis with a one day on, one day off schedule so I don't burn myself out too fast. Today was the off day, so didn't really accomplish much. I went to check out a record store that I saw a couple days ago, but it was pretty small and didn't really have an opportunity to just dig through for hidden cool stuff (it had those little tabs sorting by artist names, except without the miscellaneous section at the end for all the artists who don't fit). Went by the bookstore too, and was tempted by a couple books, but decided I didn't really want to spend any money today.

That fiscal responsibility didn't last all that long though, because something unexpected happened. I've got a whole host of extremely out-of-print albums that I'm always keeping an eye out for, but some of them have been in that position for years so I don't really expect to find them. But I get back home to a message from a friend, saying that one of them is on sale. It's way more than I'd pay for 99% of CDs, but it's about how much I probably would have spent on books anyway, so I figure it comes out about even. So now I'm in the process of becoming a proud owner of a copy of the Capricorns' debut album In the Zone. That's one of the ones I'm meaning to write about in the music section eventually, so keep an eye out!

April 27, 2022

Pretty uneventful day today, finally got around to making this here Neocities site though. Got a bit of the prep work on my thesis research done today, but mostly I'm just preparing to spend a couple weeks at home. The nice thing about getting all my credit hours done last semester is that now, until I get to a point where I'll need to be working in the lab, I don't need to be on campus at all. Using that now to visit family, and I'm sure I'll make use of it later too.

I still feel like I don't really know what a graduate student does, though? Like I know what work is expected of me, but the idea of writing a whole thesis about it sounds way out of my depth. Not that I don't feel the same about life after school though lol